Marlboro College

NewsAcademic Prizes

Commencement home

The following prizes were announced at Marlboro’s 59th commencement

The Sally and Valerio Montanari Theatre Prize is awarded annually to a graduating senior who has made the greatest overall contribution to the pursuit of excellence in theatre production. Kristianna Molitor

Roland W. Boyden Prize is given by the humanities faculty to a student who has demonstrated excellence in the humanities. Roland Boyden was a founding faculty member of the college, acting President, Dean, and Trustee. Jacob Turino

The Robert H. MacArthur Prize was established in 1973 in memory of Robert MacArthur, Class of 1951, and recently rededicated to Robert and also to John and to John and Robert’s parents, John and Olive MacArthur, who founded the science program at Marlboro College. The contest for the prize is in the form of a question or challenge offered to the entire student community. Not awarded.

The Freshman/Sophomore Essay Prize, given annually for the best essay written for a Marlboro course. It is awarded by the English Committee.
Analytical: Erin Calabria for “Wings of Exulted and Terrible Youth”
Personal: Heather Miles for “A Trip to the Moon”
Honorable mention: Seth Sempere for “Of winged words and mutable man”
Honorable mention: Kiah Karlsson for “Reflections on return to wilderness”

The Audrey Alley Gorton Award, given in memory of Audrey Gorton, Marlboro alumna and member of the faculty for 33 years, to the student who best reflects the Gorton qualities of: passion for reading, an independence of critical judgment, fastidious attention to matters of style, and a gift for intelligent conversation. William Thomas

The Walter and Jane Whitehill Prize, awarded by the humanities faculty for the best Plan of Concentration in the humanities, one that represents the greatest intellectual challenge in conception, design, and execution.

The Helen W. Clark Prize, awarded by the visual arts faculty for the best Plan of Concentration in the studio arts. Ronald Demers

The Dr. Loren C. Bronsen Memorial Award for Excellence in Classics, established by the family of Loren Bronsen, Class of 1973, to encourage undergraduate work in classics. Stephen Klemm

The Buck Turner Prize, awarded to a student who demonstrates excellence in the natural sciences, who uses interdisciplinary approaches and who places his or her work in the context of larger questions. Sarah Waggoner
Honorable mention: Julie Shumway

The Hilly van Loon Prize, established by the Class of 2000 in honor of Hilly van Loon, Marlboro Class of 1962 and staff member for 23 years, is given to the senior who best reflects Hilly’s wisdom, compassion, community involvement, quiet dedication to the spirit of Marlboro College, joy in writing and celebration of life. Josie Delman

The Religion, Literature and Philosophy Prize, presented to a student whose intellectual excellence and breadth of learning best embodies the great traditions of classical humanism. Lauren Mrotek

The William Davisson Prize, created this year by the Town Meeting Selectboard and named in honor of Will Davisson who served as a faculty member for 18 years and as a trustee for 22 years, is awarded to one or more students for extraordinary contributions to the Marlboro community. Rohan Agarwal

  1. Recent News
  2. Upcoming Events
  3. Social Media
  4. Press Releases
  5. Publications
  6. Drury Gallery
  7. Commencement
  8. Archives