Marlboro College

News Academic Prizes - 2009 Commencement

The Rebecca Willow Prize, established in 2008 in memory of Rebecca Willow, Class of 1995, is awarded to a student whose presence brings personal integrity and kindness to the community and who unites an interest in human history and culture with a passion for the natural world.

Winner: Talia Jackson

The Sally and Valerio Montanari Theatre Prize is awarded annually to a graduating senior who has made the greatest overall contribution to the pursuit of excellence in theatre production.

Winner: Jamie Young

The Robert H. MacArthur Prize was established in 1973 in memory of Robert MacArthur, Class of 1951, and recently rededicated to Robert and also to John and to John and Robert's Parents, John and Olive MacArthur, who founded the science program at Marlboro College. The contest for the prize is in the form of a question or challenge offered to the entire student community. This year's theme was "Fluidity."

Winner: Raf Kelman - flu id identity, an animated drawing and sound presentation

Second Prize: Mara Eagel - a handbuilt clay/ceramic form inspired by a sense of fluidity

Honorable Mention: Rosebud (Kenyon) Acton and Juliette Sutherland - Fluidity, a dance-film collaboration

Roland W. Boyden Prize is given by the humanities faculty to students who have demonstrated excellence in the humanities. Roland Boyden was a founding faculty member of the College, acting president, Dean, and Trustee.

Winners: Tiffany Phelan, Seth Sempere, Michael Macher

The Freshman/Sophomore Essay Prize, given annually for the best essay written for a Marlboro course.

Winner: Casey Friedman for The Aristotelian in the Orange Jumpsuit

Honorable Mention: Christina Reppert for Pricked...Missed...Relief

Honorable Mention: Joshua Stern for The Rwandan Genocide

The Audrey Gorton Award, given in memory of Audrey Gorton, Marlboro alumna and member of the faculty for 33 years, to the student who best reflects the Gorton qualities: a passion for reading, an independence of critical judgment, fastidious attention to matters of style and a gift for intelligent conversation.

Winner: Heather Reed

The Helen W. Clark Prize, awarded by the visual arts faculty for the best Plan of Concentration in the fine arts.

Winner: Caitlin Harder

The Dr. Loren C. Bronson Award for Excellence in Classics, established by the family of Loren Bronson, Class of 1973, to encourage undergraduate work in classics.

Winner: Amanda Whiting

The Buck Turner Prize, awarded to a student who demonstrates excellence in the natural sciences, who uses interdisciplinary approaches and who places his or her work in the context of larger questions.

Winner: Alec Koumjian

The Hilly van Loon Prize, established by the Class of 2000 in honor of Hilly van Loon, Marlboro Class of 1962 and staff member for 23 years, is given to the senior who best reflects Hilly's wisdom, compassion, community involvement, quiet dedication to the spirit of Marlboro College, joy in writing and celebration of life.

Winner: Sarah Fielding

The William Davisson Prize, created in 2008 by the Town Meeting Selectboard and named in honor of Will Davisson, who served as a faculty member for 18 years and asa trustee for 22 years, is awarded to one or more students for extraordinary contributions to the Marlboro Community.

Winner: Kenton (Kenny) Card

The Ryan Larsen Memorial Prize, was established in 2006 in memory of Ryan Jeffrey Larsen, who felt transformed by the opportunities to learn and grow within the embrace of the Marlboro College community. It will be awarded annually to a junior or senior who best reflects Ryan's qualities of philosophical curiosity, creativity, compassion and spiritual inquiry.

Winner: Lily Sage Schweitzer


  1. Recent News
  2. Upcoming Events
  3. Social Media
  4. Press Releases
  5. Publications
  6. Drury Gallery
  7. Commencement
  8. Archives