Marlboro College

News Academic Prizes 2010

Curriculum-wide nominations

The Rebecca Willow Prize, established in 2008 in memory of Rebecca Willow, Class of 1995, is awarded to a student whose presence brings personal integrity and kindness to the community and who unites an interest in human history and culture with a passion for the natural world.

Recipient: Erin Riordan

The Audrey Alley Gorton Award, given in memory of Audrey Gorton, Marlboro alumna and member of the faculty for 33 years, to the student who best reflects the Gorton qualities of: passion for reading, an independence of critical judgment, fastidious attention to matters of style, and a gift for intelligent conversation.

Recipients: Sarah Horowitz, Sari Brown

The Hilly van Loon Prize, established by the Class of 2000 in honor of Hilly van Loon, Marlboro Class of 1962 and staff member for 23 years, is given to the senior who best reflects Hilly's wisdom, compassion, community involvement, quiet dedication to the spirit of Marlboro College, joy in writing and celebration of life.

Recipient: Amber Schaefer

The William Davisson Prize, created by the Town Meeting Selectboard and named in honor of Will Davisson, who served as a faculty member for 18 years and as a trustee for 22 years, is awarded to one or more students for extraordinary contributions to the Marlboro Community.

Recipients: Willson Gaul, Sophia Cleary

The Ryan Larsen Memorial Prize was established in 2006 in memory of Ryan Jeffrey Larsen, who felt transformed by the opportunities to learn and grow within the embrace of the Marlboro College community, is awarded annually to a junior or senior who best reflects Ryan's qualities of philosophical curiosity, creativity, compassion and spiritual inquiry.

Recipients: Mike Harrist, Amity Jones


The Helen W. Clark Prize, awarded by the visual arts faculty for the best Plan of Concentration in the fine arts.

Recipient: Alisha Langerman

The Sally and Valerio Montanari Theatre Prize is awarded annually to a graduating senior who has made the greatest overall contribution to the pursuit of excellence in theatre production.

Recipient: Simon Moody


The Dr. Loren C. Bronsen Award for Excellence in Classics was established by the family of Loren Bronsen, Class of 1973 to encourage undergraduate work in classics.

Recipient: Amanda DeBisschop

Roland W. Boyden Prize is given by the humanities faculty to a student who has demonstrated excellence in the humanities. Roland Boyden was a founding faculty member of the College, acting president, Dean, and Trustee.

Recipients: Noah Burke, Ursula Roessiger

Natural Sciences

The Buck Turner Prize is awarded to a student who demonstrates excellence in the natural sciences, who uses interdisciplinary approaches and who places his or her work in the context of larger questions.

Recipients: Morgan Ingalls, Will Mees

Prizes awarded by standing committees

The Freshman/Sophomore Essay Prize, given annually for the best essay written for a Marlboro course.

Recipient: Ayla Mullen (for her essay "Anger and Incandescence in the Good and Worthy Voice")

The Robert H. MacArthur Prize was established in 1973 in memory of Robert MacArthur, Class of 1951, and recently rededicated to Robert and also to John and to John and Robert's parents, John and Olive MacArthur, who founded the science program at Marlboro College. The contest for the prize is in the form of a question or challenge offered to the entire student community.

3 honorable mention recipients (in alphabetical order)
Sophia Cleary
Lauren Deshay
Levi Gershkowitz

Second prize winner
Mary Coventry

First prize winner
Joanna Moyer-Battick




  1. Recent News
  2. Upcoming Events
  3. Social Media
  4. Press Releases
  5. Publications
  6. Drury Gallery
  7. Commencement
  8. Archives