Marlboro College

News Academic Prizes 2011

Curriculum-wide nominations

Rebecca Willow Prize, established in 2008 in memory of Rebecca Willow, Class of 1995, is awarded to a student whose presence brings personal integrity and kindness to the community and who unites an interest in human history and culture with a passion for the natural world.

Recipients: Casey (KC) Chalbeck and Amanda Whiting

The Audrey Alley Gorton Award is given in memory of Audrey Gorton, Marlboro alumna and member of the faculty for 33 years, to the student who best reflects the Gorton qualities of: passion for reading, an independence of critical judgment, fastidious attention to matters of style, and a gift for intelligent conversation.

Recipient: Emma Goldhammer

The Hilly van Loon Prize, established by the Class of 2000 in honor of Hilly van Loon, Marlboro Class of 1962 and staff member for 23 years, is given to the senior who best reflects Hilly's wisdom, compassion, community involvement, quiet dedication to the spirit of Marlboro College, joy in writing and celebration of life.

Recipients: Eric Toldi and Kelly Ahrens

The William Davisson Prize, created by the Town Meeting Selectboard and named in honor of Will Davisson who served as a faculty member for 18 years and as a trustee for 22 years, is awarded to one or more students for extraordinary contributions to the Marlboro Community.

Recipients: Anna Knecht and Sarah Verbil

The Ryan Larsen Memorial Prize was established in 2006 in memory of Ryan Jeffrey Larsen, who felt transformed by the opportunities to learn and grow within the embrace of the Marlboro College community. It is awarded annually to a junior or senior who best reflects Ryan's qualities of philosophical curiosity, creativity, compassion and spiritual inquiry.

Recipients: Michael Thompson and Sari Brown


The Helen W. Clark Prize is awarded by the visual arts faculty for the best Plan of Concentration in fine arts.

Recipients: Sophie Mueller and Lex (Alexander) Kozieradzki

The Sally and Valerio Montanari Theatre Prize is awarded annually to a graduating senior who has made the greatest overall contribution to the pursuit of excellence in theatre production.

Recipient: Elizabeth Hull


The Dr. Loren C. Bronsen Award for Excellence in Classics, established by the family of Loren Bronsen, Class of 1973, is awarded to encourage undergraduate work in classics.

Recipients: Emily Kimble and Amanda Whiting

The Roland W. Boyden Prize is given by the humanities faculty to a student who has demonstrated excellence in the humanities. Roland Boyden was a founding faculty member of the College, acting president, Dean, and Trustee.

Recipients: Eric Breeden and Michael Mirer

Natural Sciences

The Buck Turner Prize is awarded to a student who demonstrates excellence in the natural sciences, who uses interdisciplinary approaches, and who places his or her work in the context of larger questions.

Recipient: Christine Raudonis

The Robert E. Engel Award in honor of Bob Engel, Marlboro faculty member for 36 years, is given to a student who displays Bob's sense of wonder for the natural world and his keen powers of observation and inquiry as a natural historian.

Recipients: Kathryn Lyon and Clare Riley

Prizes awarded by standing committees

The Freshman/Sophomore Essay Prize is given annually for the best essay written for a Marlboro course.

Recipient: Kathryn Lyon for Animal Morality in Concentric Circles
Honorable Mention: Adam Halwitz for The Uncanny Face

The Robert H. MacArthur Prize was established in 1973 in memory of Robert MacArthur, Class of 1951, and recently rededicated to Robert and also to John and to John and Robert's parents, John and Olive MacArthur, who founded the science program at Marlboro College. The contest for the prize is in the form of a question or challenge offered to the entire student community.

Thea Cabreros
Eric Joyce
Lex Kozieradzki
Tristan Pease


  1. Recent News
  2. Upcoming Events
  3. Social Media
  4. Press Releases
  5. Publications
  6. Drury Gallery
  7. Commencement
  8. Archives