Marlboro College

NewsAcademic prizes

The Sally and Valerio Montanari Theatre Prize is awarded annually to a graduating senior who has made the greatest overall contribution to the pursuit of excellence in theatre production.
Evan Mehler

Roland W. Boyden Prize is given by the humanities faculty to a student who has demonstrated excellence in the humanities. Roland Boyden was a founding faculty member of the College, acting President, Dean, and Trustee.
Tiffany Phelan

The Robert H. MacArthur Prize was established in 1973 in memory of Robert MacArthur, Class of 1951, and recently rededicated to Robert and also to John and to John and Robert’s parents, John and Olive MacArthur, who founded the science program at Marlboro College. The contest for the prize is in the form of a question or challenge offered to the entire student community. NO AWARD

The Freshman/Sophomore Essay Prize, given annually for the best essay written for a Marlboro course. It is awarded by the English Committee.
Personal Essay: Sarah Horowitz – Accepting the Reality of My Dreams
Analytical Essay: Carrie Strimbeck – An Analysis of Paradise Lost
Honorable Mention(Personal Essay): Mary Coventry – The Truth
Honorable Mention (Analytical Essay): Claire Jakubiszyn – Reparations and Marginalization: The Mothers of the Plaza de Mayo and the Policies of Argentina

The Audrey Alley Gorton Award, given in memory of Audrey Gorton, Marlboro alumna and member of the faculty for 33 years, to the student who best reflects the Gorton qualities of: passion for reading, an independence of critical judgment, fastidious attention to matters of style, and a gift for intelligent conversation.
Ester Hall-Reinhardt

The Helen W. Clark Prize, awarded by the visual arts faculty for the best Plan of Concentration in the studio arts.
Ryan Kish
Sarah Wise

The Dr. Loren C. Bronsen Memorial Award for Excellence in Classics, established by the family of Loren Bronsen, Class of 1973, to encourage undergraduate work in classics.
Natalie Cohen
Philip Holderith

The Buck Turner Prize, awarded to a student who demonstrates excellence in the natural sciences, who uses interdisciplinary approaches and who places his or her work in the context of
larger questions.
Susannah Sosman

The Hilly van Loon Prize, established by the Class of 2000 in honor of Hilly van Loon, Marlboro Class of 1962 and staff member for 23 years, is given to the senior who best reflects Hilly’s wisdom, compassion, community involvement, quiet dedication to the spirit of Marlboro College, joy in writing and celebration of life.
Lisa Miskelly

The Religion, Literature and Philosophy Prize, presented to a student whose intellectual excellence and breadth of learning best embodies the great traditions of classical humanism.
Sonia Lowe

The William Davisson Prize, created by the Town Meeting Selectboard and named in honor of Will Davisson who served as a faculty member for 18 years and as a trustee for 22 years, is awarded to one or more students for extraordinary contributions to the Marlboro community.
Betsey Thompson

The Ryan Larsen Memorial Prize was established in 2006 in memory of Ryan Jeffrey Larsen, who felt transformed by the opportunities to learn and grow within the embrace of the Marlboro College community. It will be awarded annually to a junior or senior who best reflects Ryan’s qualities of philosophical curiosity, creativity, compassion and spiritual inquiry. Recipients will be chosen annually by the Scholarships and Prizes Committee in consultation with the Dean of Faculty, and announced at Commencement in the spring.
Joe Mirsky

  1. Recent News
  2. Upcoming Events
  3. Social Media
  4. Press Releases
  5. Publications
  6. Drury Gallery
  7. Commencement
  8. Archives