2014 Academic Prizes

The Rebecca Willow Prize, established in 2008 in memory of Rebecca Willow, class of 1995, is awarded to a student whose presence brings personal integrity and kindness to the community and who unites an interest in human history and culture with a passion for the natural world: Robert Patrick Magee 

The Audrey Alley Gorton Award is given in memory of Audrey Gorton, Marlboro alumna and member of the faculty for 33 years, to the student who best reflects the Gorton qualities of: passion for reading, an independence of critical judgment, fastidious attention to matters of style, and a gift for intelligent conversation: Emma Thacker

The Hilly van Loon Prize, established by the class of 2000 in honor of Hilly van Loon, Marlboro class of 1962 and staff member for 23 years, is given to the senior who best reflects Hilly’s wisdom, compassion, community involvement, quiet dedication to the spirit of Marlboro College, joy in writing, and celebration of life: Daniel Kalla

The William Davisson Prize, created by the Town Meeting Selectboard and named in honor of Will Davisson who served as a faculty member for 18 years and as a trustee for 22 years, is awarded to one or more students for extraordinary contributions to the Marlboro Community: David Amato

The Ryan Larsen Memorial Prize was established in 2006 in memory of Ryan Jeffrey Larsen, who felt transformed by the opportunities to learn and grow within the embrace of the Marlboro College community. It is awarded annually to a junior or senior who best reflects Ryan's qualities of philosophical curiosity, creativity, compassion, and spiritual inquiry: Sophia Romeri

The Helen W. Clark Prize is awarded by the visual arts faculty for the best Plan of Concentration in the fine arts. This award has been supported by the generosity of Faculty Emerita Willene Clark, and her colleagues in the visual arts and across the college, in honor of her mother: Patrick Lancaster

The Sally and Valerio Montanari Theater Prize is awarded annually to a graduating senior who has made the greatest overall contribution to the pursuit of excellence in theater production: Luc Rosenthal

The Dr. Loren C. Bronson Award for Excellence in Classics, established by the family of Loren Bronson, class of 1973, is awarded to encourage undergraduate work in classics: Alanna Doyle

The Roland W. Boyden Prize is given by the humanities faculty to students who have demonstrated excellence in the humanities. Roland Boyden was a founding faculty member of the college, acting president, dean, and trustee: Adam Halwitz; Michael Sirois; Marcos Wu

The Buck Turner Prize is awarded to students who demonstrate excellence in the natural sciences, who use interdisciplinary approaches, and who place their work in the context of larger questions: Alison Wu; Daniel Zagal

The Robert E. Engel Award, established in 2011 in honor of Bob Engel, Marlboro Faculty member for 36 years, is awarded to students who demonstrate Bob’s passion for the natural world and his keen powers of observation and inquiry as a natural historian: Ian Hitchcock; Ayla Mullen

The Freshman/Sophomore Essay Prize is given annually for the best essay written for a Marlboro course: Andrew Hart for “Pynchon’s Poem of Preterition”; Kelly Hickey for “‘Thanks to the Mountains We Are Alive’: Communities and Populations in Resistance in Guatemala”

The Robert H. MacArthur Prize was established in 1973 in memory of Robert MacArthur, class of 1951, and recently rededicated to Robert and also to John and to John and Robert’s parents, John and Olive MacArthur, who founded the science program at Marlboro College. The contest for the prize is in the form of a question or challenge offered to the entire student community: Aidan Keeva; Christopher Melaney; Jonathan Aird honorable mention